The International Motorcycling Federation (FIM) released a preliminary schedule for the 2014 MotoGP World Championship. The provisional 2014 calendar includes 19 rounds, one more than the 2013 season.

As previously reported, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca has been dropped from the 2014 season, reducing the number of U.S. rounds to two, Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Circuit of the Americas. California’s loss is South America’s gain however, as the continent adds not one but two rounds in Argentina and Brazil.

The Argentine Grand Prix was initially supposed to host MotoGP this season but the round was canceled due to tensions from an ongoing dispute between the country’s government and oil giant and prominent race sponsor Repsol. If all goes according to plan, Argentina’s Autódromo Termas de Río Hondo will be hosting the country’s first Grand Prix round since 1999.

Brazil is provisionally scheduled to host its first Grand Prix since 2004, but the Autódromo Internacional Nelson Piquet circuit in Brasilia is still awaiting final homologation for motorcycle racing. Getting that approval is no small task however, and it may not be a surprise if the round is dropped if homologation is not completed in time.

Jerez also remains a bit of a question mark, as the cash-strapped circuit has yet to finalize its contract with MotoGP promoter Dorna.

The rest of the calendar has few other changes from this year’s schedule. The 2014 season will open two weeks earlier on March 23 with another night race in Qatar. The earlier date and the nighttime conditions may mean track moisture from dew may be a factor in the race. The Motegi and Phillip Island rounds have also been reversed, with next year’s Japanese Grand Prix occurring the week before the Australian race.

2014 MotoGP Calendar (provisional as of Oct. 2, 2013)

  • March 23 – Qatar – Doha/Losail
  • April 13 – Americas – Austin, Texas
  • April 27 – Argentina – Termas de Rio Hondo
  • May 4 – Spain – Jerez de la Frontera*
  • May 18 – France – Le Mans
  • June 1 – Italy – Mugello
  • June 15 – Catalunya – Barcelona-Catalunya
  • June 28 – Netherlands – TT Assen
  • July 13 – Germany – Sachsenring
  • Aug. 10 – Indianapolis – Indianapolis
  • Aug. 17 – Czech Republic – Brno
  • Aug. 31 – Great Britain – Silverstone
  • Sept. 14 – San Marino & Riviera di Rimini – Marco Simoncelli Misano
  • Sept. 21 – Aragon – MotorLand
  • Sept. 28 – Brazil – Brasilia**
  • Oct.12 – Malaysia – Sepang
  • Oct. 19 – Japan – Motegi
  • Oct. 26 – Australia – Phillip Island
  • Nov. 9 – Valencia – Ricardo Tormo-Valencia

*Jerez is subject to the finalization of its contract
**Brazil is subject to track homologation

[Source: FIM]