June 20, 2016
| On 5 years ago

FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Russell Bobbitt Captures Second-Straight Victory At Round 5 Of The National Enduro Series

Begin Press Release:

FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Russell Bobbitt Captures Second-Straight Victory At Round 5 Of The National Enduro Series
Round 5 – AMA National Enduro Series – June 19, 2016

MENAHGA, Minn. – It was a KTM podium sweep on Sunday for Round 5 of the AMA National Enduro Series in Menahga, Minnesota. FMF KTM Factory Team rider Russell Bobbitt rode to his second-straight victory in the Pro Class, while SRT/KTM rider Steward Baylor Jr. finished 2nd and KTM-mounted Jesse Groemm rounded out the overall podium in 3rd. FMF KTM Factory Team rider Kacy Martinez captured her fourth win of the season in the Women’s Class, besting her competition by over 7 minutes.

The Huntersville National Enduro provided a physically demanding course with plenty of sand, fast whoops and tough sections, which lent a hand in Bobbitt’s success. In test one, Bobbitt powered his KTM 250 XC-F into a 2nd place finish, just behind KTM-mounted Jesse Groemm. Bobbitt maintained his consistency with another 2nd place finish in test two, where he jumped into the overall lead early on.

Bobbitt put forth a flawless ride in test three to capture his first test-win of the day. In test four, Bobbitt went down and lost about 10 seconds to KTM Support rider Steward Baylor, who went on to capture the test win, followed by Bobbitt in 2nd. Bobbitt bounced back to capture the final two test wins of the day, thus capturing his second-straight victory of the season.

“The track today was a physical one and there were tons of stumps on the side of the trail so you really had to be on your toes and plan your corners well,” Bobbitt said. “The black sandy loam made for amazing traction and with only one major mistake all day I rode a solid race.”

KTM Support rider Steward Baylor finished a close 2nd in the final test, powering his KTM 450 XC-F into 2nd place overall for the day. KTM-mounted Jesse Groemm finished 3rd overall with one test win behind him.

FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Kacy Martinez had a flawless day of racing as she won four of five tests in the Women’s Class. Martinez had a great start to the day, winning the first two tests of the day aboard her KTM 250 XC-F. From there, Martinez kept the momentum going and won the next two tests to extend her lead substantially over the rest of the field.

In the fifth and final test of the day, Martinez finished 2nd place in the Women’s Class, where she went on to capture her fourth win of the season at Round 5.

“I’m really bummed that I didn’t win the last test but with the lead that I had going into it, I made the decision to ride conservative and finish,” Martinez said. “It feels great to get my fourth win this year!”

Next Event: July 24, 2016 – Cross Fork, Pennsylvania

Overall Results –

1.     Russell Bobbitt – KTM

2.     Steward Baylor – KTM

3.     Jesse Groemm – KTM

4.     Grant Baylor

5.     Drew Higgins – KTM

6.     Nathan Ferderer

7.     Ian Blythe – KTM

8.     Josh Strang

9.     Nick Fahringer

10.  Tim Nienow

Overall Results Women’s Class –

1.     Kacy Martinez – KTM

2.     Shawn Davidson – KTM

3.     Rachel Gutish – KTM

4.     Ashlee Applewhite – KTM

5.     Mandi Mastin – KTM

6.     Kristi Grote – KTM

7.     Justine Cox

Overall Point Standings Pro Class –

1.     Russell Bobbitt – 135

2.     Steward Baylor – 119

3.     Grant Baylor –  110

4.     Jesse Groemm – 78

5.     Josh Strang – 72

6.     Drew Higgins – 66

7.     Ryder Lafferty – 51

8.     Charlie Mullins – 50

9.     Nick Fahringer – 50

10.  Ron Commo III – 47

Overall Point Standings Women’s Pro Class –

1.     Kacy Martinez – 145

2.     Shawn Davidson – 126

3.     Ashlee Applewhite – 88