June 8, 2016
| On 5 years ago

2016 Isle of Man TT: Monster Energy Supersport TT 2 Results

Ian Hutchinson won his second Supersport class race of the 2016 Isle of Man TT while Michael Dunlop found redemption in finishing second after being disqualified in the first Supersport TT race.

Hutchinson’s win is his fourth consecutive Supersport TT win as well as his 14th overall TT victory, tying him on the all-time wins list with the great Mike Hailwood.

The Yamaha R6 rider held a slim lead ahead of Dunlop the first time past Glen Helen but quickly began pulling ahead. Hutchinson completed the first lap with a time of 17:45.728, about 4 seconds ahead of Dunlop with Dean Harrison another 8 seconds further back in third.

Ian Hutchinson won his fourth-straight Supersport TT race in convincing fashion. Photo by: DaveKneale.com

Hutchinson was even faster the second lap, timing at 17:43.346 before coming into the pits. He entered the pit stop with a 7.1 second lead over Dunlop but extended the lead to 12 seconds by Glen Helen.

With a secure lead, Hutchinson completed the race, averaging a speed of 125.905 mph. Dunlop finished second at 125.394 mph followed by Harrison at 123.915 mph.

Michael Dunlop finished second in today’s race after being disqualified from the first Supersport TT race. Photo by: IOMTT.com

With his victory, Hutchinson has clinched the Joey Dunlop Championship for the top racer of the TT.

2016 Isle of Man TT: Supersport TT Race 2 Top Five Results
Pos. Rider Machine/Team Time Speed
1 Ian Hutchinson Came BPT Yamaha/Team Tract 1:11:55.261 125.905 mph
2 Michael Dunlop Yamaha/MD Racing 1:12:12.808 125.395 mph
3 Dean Harrison Kawasaki/Silicone Engineering 1:12:29.452 124.915 mph
4 James Hillier Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki 1:12:42.986 124.528 mph
5 Bruce Anstey Honda/Valvoline Racing by Padgetts 1:12:44.287 124.490 mph