From an eMotoRacing press release:

Karl Smolenski completed the 8-lap race on the student-built electric racebike, in an impressive first outing on the Kawasaki ZX636-based prototype.

At the end of last year’s racing season, universities from around the U.S. and Canada were invited to compete in the AHRMA-sanctioned eMotoRacing event at New Jersey Motorsports Park July 11,12.

Eric Wood of Woodcraft Technologies, America’s road racing gear provider, graciously posted a $1000 scholarship to the winning collegiate team. Nine teams expressed acute interest in participating, but building a competent prototype electric racebike is no easy or quick task. Four teams had bikes completed and poised to contend. During final testing just before the event, technical difficulties sidelined most of them.

The RIT EV Team stood tall by meeting the challenge, bringing a huge following to NJMP. They were treated to a raucous reception at the evening’s award ceremony as the Woodcraft Scholaship was presented.

Isle of Man Manx GP veteran racer Smolenski showed poise with lap times approaching competitve in eMotoRacing’s eSupersport class. The race was won by defending class champion Arthur Kowitz on his Brammo based streamliner. Pete Nicolosi of SC lead for most of the race, until Kowitz reeled him at the beginning of the final lap. Each rider had sections of the track where they held the advantage, making for an exciting race. Andrew Cowell came in third, followed by Bob Berbeco of Indiana, and Smolensky on the RIT entry.

1. Arthur Kowitz            Brammo TTX
2. Pete Nicolosi            Brammo Empulse R
3. Andrew Cowell          Brammo Empulse R
4. Bob Berbeco            Brammo Empulse R
5. Karl Smolenski         RIT EV prototype
6. Scott Signorini          Brammo Empulse R  DNF
7  CR Gittere                Prototype                 DNS