Ian Hutchinson captured the first of two Supersport TT races for his ninth career victory in the Isle of Man TT but first since a serious injury in 2010. Hutchinson suffered compound fractures to his left tibia and fibula in a British Supersport race that season, the same year he won all five solo races in the Isle of Man TT.

Hutchinson led after the opening lap, averaging a speed of 126.400 mph, just ahead of Gary Johnson with Bruce Anstey not far behind. Hutchinson increased his lead on the second lap while Anstey moved past Johnson into second as they headed to the pits. Guy Martin was fourth but was assessed a 30-second penalty for speeding in pit lane, dropping him down the order.

A fantastic effort by Hutchinson’s crew helped nearly triple his lead to 6.6 seconds over Anstey as he headed back out. Hutchinson maintained his gap through Lap 3 and capped things off with a race-best final lap, averaging a speed of 127.571 mph. Anstey also topped the 127 mark on the fourth lap but had to settle for second while Johnson completed the podium.


From left, Bruce Anstey (second), winner Ian Hutchinson and Gary Johnson (third). Photo by Pacemaker Press Intl.

2015 Isle of Man TT: Supersport TT Race 1 Top Six Results
Pos. Rider Machine/Team Time Speed
1 Ian Hutchinson Yamaha Team Traction Control 1:12:10.872 125.451 mph
2 Bruce Anstey Honda/Valvoline Racing 1:12:18.595 125.228 mph
3 Gary Johnson Yamaha 1:12:35.811 124.733 mph
4 Lee Johnston Triumph East Coast Construction 1:12:48.591 124.368 mph
5 Guy Martin Triumph Smiths Racing 1:12:58.110 124.097 mph
6 James Hillier Kawasaki Quattro 1:13:24.531 123.353 mph