June 9, 2015
| On 8 years ago

2015 Isle of Man TT: RL360 Superstock TT Results

Ian Hutchinson won his second race of the week, taking the Superstock TT with a new class record average speed of 129.197 mph. In fact, the top four finishers including previous record-holder Michael Dunlop all surpassed the previous mark.

Dunlop led after the opening lap, nearly two seconds ahead of Hutchinson while Guy Martin rounded out the top three, all averaging a speed faster than 130 mph. Dunlop maintained his lead after the second lap as the riders headed in for a pit stop.

Michael Dunlop settled for second despite laying down a race-best 130.932 mph average speed on the first lap. Photo by SimonWilliamsPhotography.

A new rear tire gave Hutchinson superior grip, and he quickly took over the lead over Dunlop. Hutchison increased his lead to about 10 seconds as he started his fourth and final lap. Dunlop had to settle for second while Lee Johnston outdueled James Hillier to take the final podium spot.

Lee Johnston (left) eat James Hillier at the finish line to take third place behind race winner Ian Hutchinson (center) and Michael Dunlop (right). Photo by Stephen Davison at Pacemaker Press International.

2015 Isle of Man TT: Superstock TT Top Six Results
Pos. Rider Machine/Team Time Speed
1 Ian Hutchinson Kawasaki/Paul Bird Motorsport 1:10:05.298 129.197 mph
2 Michael Dunlop BMW/MD Racing 1:10:22.437 128.228 mph
3 Lee Johnston BMW/East Coast Construction 1:10:30.677 128.422 mph
4 James Hillier Kawasaki/Quattro 1:10:30.947 128.412 mph
5 Peter Hickman BMW/Briggs Equipment 1:10:50.444 127.825 mph
6 David Johnson BMW/Smiths Racing 1:11:00.805 127.514 mph