Eli Tomac scored his first career 450-class AMA Supercross win, reeling in early leader Ken Roczen for the victory before 49,672 fans in Chase Field in Phoenix, Ariz.

Trying to make up for a disappointing 20th-place result at the season opener in Anaheim, Geico Honda‘s Tomac was credited with the holeshot but Roczen took over the lead on his RCH Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki. Roczen led the opening seven laps before Tomac took over on Lap 8. Once in front, Tomac began pulling away, crossing the finish 6.424 seconds ahead of Roczen.

The fight for third provided more action, with Red Bull KTM‘s Ryan Dungey chasing down JGR Yamaha rider Weston Peick for the final podium spot. Dungey started strong but made a few mistakes that dropped him to fourth behind Peick. Dungey spent most of the race stalking Peick before passing him for third on Lap 18.

2015 AMA Supercross: Phoenix 450 Top Five Results
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Time
1 Eli Tomac Honda
2 Ken Roczen Suzuki +6.424
3 Ryan Dungey KTM +10.596
4 Weston Peick Yamaha +23.538
5 Davi Millsaps Kawasaki +24.718

Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha‘s Cooper Webb emerged with the victory in the 250 West Regional class. Webb caught early leader Malcolm Stewart, passing the Geico Honda rider on Lap 5 and pulling away for the win. Anaheim I winner Jessy Nelson took third for Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM.

2015 AMA Supercross: Phoenix 250 Western Regional Top Five Results
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Time
1 Cooper Webb Yamaha
2 Malcolm Stewart Honda +5.447
3 Jessy Nelson KTM +7.618
4 Tyler Bowers Kawasaki +9.813
5 Aaron Plessinger Yamaha +11.286

The 2015 AMA Supercross Championship goes back to Anaheim next weekend with Roczen atop the 450 standings and Nelson leading the 250 class.

450 Class Top Five Standings 250 West Class Top Five Standings
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Points Rider Manufacturer Points
1 Ken Roczen Suzuki 47 Jessy Nelson KTM 45
2 Ryan Dungey KTM 38 Cooper Webb Yamaha 39
3 Jason Anderson Husqvarna 37 Tyler Bowers Kawasaki 38
4 Trey Canard Honda 33 Zach Osborne Husqvarna 36
5 Weston Peick Yamaha 32 Justin Hill KTM 33