The World Superbike Championship has confirmed it will race at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca on July 11-13. The Monterey, Calif., circuit had been provisionally penciled into the 2014 WSBK calendar but with a giant asterisk indicating it was still subject to agreeing to a new contract.

The WSBK round will be the only major motorcycle racing series scheduled to race this year at Laguna Seca; MotoGP dropped Laguna Seca from its 2014 schedule while the famed circuit was one of several tracks that didn’t make the cut for AMA Pro Racing five-round Superbike season.

There was very little concern about the contract getting finalized, with tickets for the Laguna Seca round have been available for sale since Jan. 22. Any contractual worries are now out of the way with the Laguna Seca round confirmed, and insurance company Geico signed on as the presenting sponsor.

“GEICO is the proper teammate to promote the World Superbike event in the U.S., thanks to their experience in motorcycling in this important market”, said Marc Saurina, WSBK Commercial and Marketing Director. “We’re glad to be the most important two-wheel world event at the iconic circuit Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and we look forward to gathering a great number of followers, bikers and motorcycle fans in Monterey this summer.”

Laguna Seca was one of four rounds listed on the provisional calendar in November  that was awaiting final confirmation. Last month, Malaysia’s Sepang Circuit confirmed its June 8 round but Phakisa Freeway in South Africa is still awaiting homologation for its scheduled Oct. 19 round.

The final round, scheduled for Nov. 2, still has no official venue, though WSBK promoter Dorna is reportedly in talks with the Losail circuit in Qatar to host the season finale.

Provisional 2014 WSBK Calendar:

Date Country Circuit WSBK WSS STK
Feb. 23 Australia Phillip Island X X
April 13 Spain Aragon X X X
April 27 The Netherlands Assen X X X
May 11 Italy Imola X X X
May 25 U.K. Donington X X
June 8 Malaysia Sepang X X
June 22 Italy Misano X X X
July 6 Portugal Portimao X X X
July 13 U.S.A. Laguna Seca X
Sept. 7 Spain Jerez X X X
Sept. 21 Russia Moscow Raceway X X
Oct. 5 France Magny Cours X X X
Oct. 19 South Africa Phakisa (To be confirmed) X X
Nov. 2 Overseas To be confirmed X X

[Source: WSBK]