The popular Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship begins with a total of 51 Area Qualifiers before the final showdown in the first week of August. Held annually since 1982 at Loretta Lynn’s home in Hurricane Mills, Tenn, the series attracts over 20,000 racers vying for 1,446 slots at the final. This event is considered to be the premier amateur motocross event and draws up-and-coming talent from nationwide.

The first Area Qualifier happens on February 15–16 at the Arizona Cycle Park. Others will follow in a total of 31 states with riders who finish in qualifying positions moving up to the Regional Championships. With only five percent of the participants moving on to the final, the organizers have made the process as friendly as possible by allowing riders to take part in as many Area Qualifiers that they want.

The Regional Championships are where the riders actually qualify for the National Final at Loretta Lynn’s. This event had been dubbed “The World’s Greatest Motocross Vacation.” So, if you want to get your dirt on, check out the Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Amateur National Motocross Championship series schedule at the MX Sports website.