Today, Erik Buell Racing announced Hero MotoCorp, the world’s largest motorcycle manufacturer in terms of unit volumes by a single company in a calendar year, will return as title sponsor for the Team Hero EBR 1190RS in the 2013 AMA Pro Racing American Superbike series. 

The Team Hero entry will be for returning rider, Geoff May, aboard his familiar number 99 machine. Mike Fitzgerald will be his crew chief, with Ryan Kelly and Grant Singley making up the rest of May’s crew. In addition, in a similar fashion to last year, expect to see several Hero technicians working alongside the team as they prepare themselves and hone their skills for racing in India.

With the departure of Danny Eslick from the team (he joined Michael Jordan Motorsports as teammates to Roger Lee Hayden), many wondered who would fill his void. In a surprise move, EBR has chosen AMA veteran Aaron Yates as his successor. Yates’ familiar number 20 will now be seen on the second EBR 1190RS with AMSOIL/Hero backing. His core team will include Evan Steel as crew chief, with Phil Allison and Willie Vass providing support.

Other key members of the EBR team include Robbie Jensen for suspension work, and Mike Kirkpatrick for transportation and logistics. Michael Tjon, who has been at the track with EBR since the beginning, will be focusing on powertrain development as the lead on this work in East Troy. “I do love racing and the track excitement, but after the last two and a half years doing that, it is [time] to get off the road for a while so I can focus on the technical part that I love best”, said Michael, adding, “We ran all last year with stock engines, and we need to push further this season.”

Rick Kress will manage both teams, allowing him to return to his home state of Wisconsin much of the year, while keeping his residence in Alabama. “I have had a really rewarding career as a crew chief in AMA Superbike for many years,” said Rick “but I have been wanting to step up to manage more, and this team is just the right fit for me.”

To keep track of the latest developments in the AMA roadracing paddock, be sure to check out the official site at