10. KTM Wins AMA Motocross Title

Despite its international motocross pedigree and “Ready to Race” reputation, Austrian manufacturer KTM had never won an AMA Motocross 450 class title … until this season. KTM has had success in the smaller classes, winning its first AMA Motocross title in 2003 with Grant Langston taking the 125 class title.

The combination of Ryan Dungey, team manager Roger “The Man” de Coster and the KTM 450SX-F proved to be too much for the competition to overcome. Dungey won 18 of 24 motos including a string of 10 in a row to score 580 championship points ahead of Suzuki-riding Mike Alessi‘s 453 points to take the championship.

The title was Dungey’s second in the 450 class, but more importantly the first for KTM. Dungey almost made it a double if not for an injury that knocked him out of five races in the AMA Supercross season. Despite missing five rounds, Dungey finished third overall with 257 points behind Kawasaki‘s Ryan Villopoto‘s 323 points and Yamaha‘s Davi Millsaps and his 266 points.

Still, it was a very good year for KTM in AMA Motocross and Supercross action. KTM and Dungey will have a chance to continue their run with the 2013 AMA Supercross season set to start in early January.