The MotoGP World Championship has accepted six new racing teams for the premier class in the 2012 season.

The six new teams, all of whom currently compete in the Moto2 classes, have each been offered a spot for a single rider in the 2012 MotoGP Championship. The six new entries will be considered “Claiming Rule Teams” and will be permitted 12 engines through the season (compared to 6 for non-CRT teams) and 24 liters of fuel (compared to 21 liters for non-CRT teams).

And they might not be alone. According to, Dorna, the International Motorcycling Federation and the International Road Racing Teams Association received more applications than they expected. Other applications will continue to be evaluated and more teams may yet be added.

The six accepted teams are:

  • By Queroseno Racing (a.k.a. BQR)
  • Forward Racing
  • Kiefer Racing (whose rider Stefan Bradl, pictured above, currently leads the Moto2 class)
  • Marc VDS Racing Team
  • Paddock GP Racing
  • Speed Master

[Source:, Photo by GEPA pictures]